Keep in Touch - Email

News Archive

Claypool, van Gylswyk, and T-Birds among Sport BC award finalists

Posted on 2016-01-19 18:36:29

Sport BC has announced the finalists for 14 of the 18 award categories to be presented at the upcoming Athlete of the Year Awards and the football family is represented in three of the major categories.

Abbotsford's Chase Claypool, the star receiver for the Abbotsford Panthers who has committed to play at the University of Notre Dame, is a finalist in the Male High School Athlete of the Year Award.

In his final season of high school football, Claypool guided the Abbotsford Panthers to the Sr. AA championship final while being named the Double A Player of the Year.

The UBC Thunderbirds Football team is doubly represented as finalists.

Thunderbirds' kicker Quinn van Gylswyk is up for the University Athlete of the Year award. The former Spectrum Community School graduate earned a place on the CIS first All-Canadian team as the top punter in the CIS (the second time he has earned that honour).

He led the nation averaging 43.6 yards per punt, which included a career-high 75-yard punt. Of course, his crowning achievement would be kicking four field goals in the Vanier Cup game against the Montreal Carabins, including the winning points with no time left, to help the T-Birds capture their first Vanier Cup since 1997.

As for the Thunderbirds, they are also up for an award as a team in the Team of the Year category.

After finishing in last place in the Canada West in 2014, the Thunderbirds capped their Cinderella season in 2015 by capturing the national championship with a 26-23 win over Montreal. It was the fourth title in school history.

A full list of all finalists can be found here.

To order tickets for the 50th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards, please visit or contact:

Heather Sharpe, Production Manager, Athlete of the Year Awards