Keep in Touch - Email

News Archive

Team Yamaoka knocks off Team Beatty at 2015 Senior Bowl

Posted on 2015-03-21 13:54:51

By Michiko Araki

Two timely scores by Team Yamaoka in the first half of the 2015 Senior Bowl game were the difference makers as the orange clad squad defeated Team Beatty by a final score of 22-7.

2015 Senior Bowl game photo gallery

Team Yamaoka came out strong in their first drive of the game, foreshadowing their offensive dominance for most of the first half. Team Yamaoka was led by quarterback Mihai Lapuste, who rushed for over 30 yards in the first half and connected with Cory McCoy on a long pass to open the scoring.

Brock Zeleniski, who rushed six yards for the second touchdown of the game, proved to be a force to be reckoned with for the team en route to winning the Offensive MVP Honours for his team. Team Yamaoka also got a rushing score from quarterback Rylan Matters in the third quarter and had a point off a rouge late in the first half.

On defence, Team Yamaoka received a great defensive effort from defensive back Lucas Bill, who caught a deep ball for an interception right before the end of the first half. Lucas ended up receiving the Defensive MVP Honours for Team Yamaoka.

Although Team Beatty had difficulties getting points on the board, the crowd got a taste of excitement with just three minutes to go in the game when receiver Matt Oye was able to score the lone touchdown from a Colby Peters pass much to the excitement of the Team Beatty supporters in the stadium.

Running back Tyrel Ogloff was named Offensive MVP for Team Beatty while DL Jordon Seney earned the Defensive MVP honours.

2015 Senior Bowl Individual Position Awards

MVP: Joss Yanciw
Most Improved: Rylan Matters

Running Back
MVP: Zac Kronbauer
Most Improved: Brock Zeleniski

MVP: Wesley Finck
Most Improved: Noah Rogers

MVP: Nicolas Sorace
Most Improved: Ryan Hennig

MVP: Connor Griffiths
Most Improved: Jordon Seney

MVP: Nathan Avantini
Most Improved: Krauzby Rea-Templeton

Defensive Back
MVP: Lucas Bill
Most Improved: Rolan Mendoza